Artist Trading Cards


A friend of mine hosted an artist trading card swap during a small art show opening. Since I have only participated in art swaps that involve the post office, I was excited to go out and be an active participant in selecting the art I would receive in return for my cards. You could do up to five 2.5″x3.5″ cards, but I ended up only having enough time to draw, ink, and paint three.

Rihanna in progress.

I have had these screenshots on my iPad for MONTHS from various music videos I loved. For some reason, it occurred to me that I could finally use these screenshots as inspiration for the cards. Unexpectedly, I ended up enjoying doing the series so much, that I have continued the theme onto larger sizes of watercolor paper for an art show I have been accepted into. Definitely having a blast creating the work and can’t wait to see what more comes out of it! 🙂

Madonna and Jessie J inked and ready for paint!

The first drawing I had completed was Jessie J so it didn’t occur to me until I had sketched out Madonna that I should fill the background with my doodles. There are a lot of people now who are familiar with my doodles, but have no idea that I can draw more realistic. I have played with mixing the two before, but not quite in this way. I did end up choosing to use only three colors: red, green, and blue to paint with for all three which made them pull together as a series even more than in ink form.

The final three.

Artist Trading Cards

I can’t remember what I named Rihanna, but Madonna’s piece was named: “I was sad and blue.” Jessie J’s card was named: “Stomp stomp I’ve arrived!”

Medium: Mixed media (ballpoint, Prismacolor Illustration markers, and Liquitex Heavy Body Acrylic Paint) on watercolor paper.

One thought on “Artist Trading Cards

  1. […] there were going to be musical acts going on during the entire two days, I decided to continue my artist trading card theme: my favorite […]

Leave a Reply

