Musician/Singer Series Pt. 1: Myles Kennedy


I will be trying to get the blog caught up to my work posted on Instagram and Flickr. Months back, I was trying to save drafts and have them publish during certain times, but since WordPress was fighting me I let the time pass. It’s too easy to fall behind!

Back in May, I was honored to be chosen as one of the artists in a two day art show/festival called Dayton Sideshow. We had many talented local artists who either had video installations, sculptures, or paintings. There were no restrictions to what we could create, which was wonderful! Since there were going to be musical acts going on during the entire two days, I decided to continue my artist trading card theme: my favorite musicians/singers.

At the beginning, I decided I didn’t want to hang the work traditionally. Remembering that I had seen an image on Pinterest where someone used clipboards to hang up illustrations and ideas, I decided it would be something to catch people’s eyes as they walked through the building. Grabbing my Strathmore and Canson watercolor paper pads, I cut them up in various sizes that would fit on the three different sizes of clipboards I had purchased at OfficeSupply.com. They had very reasonable prices and I recommend them for clipboards 100%!

Instead of just getting studio/stage shots of the bands, I went through many music videos and took screenshots of moments that I felt would make a good drawing. My first choice was Myles Kennedy, the lead vocalist and rhythm guitarist to the rock band Alter Bridge. I cannot get enough of his voice and so much of their music has such power or frailty behind it! My normal process lately has been to go directly to inking and work with my mistakes, but I knew I wouldn’t be able to do that successfully with portraits. I already had a clear idea of what I wanted in my mind, but penciled out Myles in the top right corner and leaving room for doodles on the rest of the paper later.

Myles Kennedy WIP

“On broken wings I’m falling, And it won’t be long,
The skin on me is burning, By the fires of the sun…”

-“Broken Wings” by Alter Bridge

The artist trading cards I created previously made me realize I wanted to ink these using my ballpoint pens instead of the Prismacolor Fine Liners. I did keep changing which ballpoint pen depending on what I thought worked better on the watercolor paper at the time. The one that stayed the most consistent for me was PaperMate’s InkJoy 700 RT 1.0 M. Once I inked Myles, I decided to look up what he had for tattoos. I found out he had an octopus on one arm and a Koi fish on the other. I love making connections in my work, so I doodled around Myles with a Koi fish swimming around the swirling waves and octopus tentacles.

When I started adding my acrylics, I thought I had ruined his face with the green on top of the yellow. It made him look sickly. Once I introduced some blue and pulled up a lot of the green with a paper towel, I kept going by adding more reds and purples to his hair and shirt to brighten things up. I chose to keep the upper left corner mostly white other than a few purposeful splatters of color that I dabbed with paper towel to keep the saturation down. It gives a nice weight to the right and bottom side of the composition. This piece turned out to be one of my favorites despite it being the first one penciled!

Final of Myles Kennedy

3 thoughts on “Musician/Singer Series Pt. 1: Myles Kennedy

  1. […] pencil drawing from my Musician/Singer Series depicts Lajon Witherspoon, who is the vocalist for the alternative metal group Sevendust. The […]

  2. […] one night, I had cranked out these three pencil sketches for my Musician/Singer Series. At this point, I was trying to pick facial expressions that were different from the other pieces. […]

  3. […] the same type of process as I was doing for my Musician/Singer Series, I wanted to make a late birthday gift for my Bestie, Michelle, who was moving back from San […]

Leave a Reply

